. Concealed Handgun License (CHL) Classes .
Our Next Class...
Saturday, May 25th, 2013 ~ Filling Fast ~ Book Now
CHL Class ~ New Applicants: $100 Full Day.* Includes Range Fees, Lunch, Refreshments.
CHL Class ~ Renewals: $75 Afternoon.* Includes Range Fees, Refreshments...
*Active/retired military, LE, FD & EMS personnel ~ Save 25% on CHL classes
(Subject to status verification: $75 for New CHL class; $56.25 for Renewal CHL class.)
We appreciate and thank you for your service.
Semi-Auto Pistol Rental (Optional): $30 ~ Includes 50 rounds of ammo & ear/eye protection.
Obtaining a Texas CHL is a two part process - you must apply for a CHL from the TX DPS (Department of Public Safety) as well as taking a CHL qualification class. You can choose which you want to do first and you have two years to complete the process once you begin. For information about applying to the DPS for a CHL Click Here. FAST DFW CHL Qualification Class Info:
The minimum age to take a CHL qualification class is 20 years old, or 18 years old for serving/recent ‘honorable discharge’ military personnel.
The quality of our State certified CHL instructors and the training they provide is second to none and we’re pleased to say we have a 100% success rate. Our instructors make the class as interesting and interactive as possible. They’re calm, patient and used to helping students get past any ‘exam nerves’, so not only have all our CHL students qualified first time but many have ‘aced’ both the multiple choice and the shooting test. If anyone ever does have some trouble passing, the DPS will allow a student two retests and we’ll do those free. (There will only be a small charge for gun loan/extra ammo, if you need them.)
Important ... CHL Class Lengths:
The Texas DPS states CHL classes must be at least 10 hours for new applicants and must not include any ‘downtime’ (lunch & other breaks, travel time between classroom & range, etc). If you find an instructor is offering a New TX CHL class that takes less than 10 hours please report them to the DPS. The DPS may prosecute the instructor for fraud and their students may have their licenses canceled, forfeiting all the various fees paid. Be very careful about any class that claims to be exactly 10 hours as well... Bear in mind DPS inspectors can - and do - book and attend classes anonymously ... You have been warned!
We value our reputations and your money ... We have short breaks during the class so our CHL classes take about 11 hours, starting at 8:00am and finishing around 7:00-7:30pm. It is a long day but unless there’s a change in the law there’s no way to avoid that legally, and students tell us the day passes surprisingly quickly.
Renewal qualification classes must include at least four hours of classroom and range time. Currently renewal students join our new CHL students for the afternoon sessions, but we plan to offer separate classes soon.
What’s Included In Our Price:
We include all you need for your CHL qualification class. Our private facilities in Maypearl (near Waxahachie, TX) means no long drive from classroom to gun range and no extra $10-$20 range fees. We provide all the training materials and we also include a tasty lunch for our new CHL students with coffee and water for everyone all day long. (A fridge & cooler are available for any extra food or non alcoholic drinks you choose to bring with you.)
CHL trainers who say they include notary services, fingerprinting or photographs are behind the times - Current CHL forms don’t need to be notarized; fingerprints must now be submitted electronically at a ‘MorphoTrust USA’ office (see below); and you don’t need photos any more if you have a valid TX driver’s license and bring it with you so your instructor can verify the details. (The DPS may request photos from you later if they can’t use your DL photo for some reason.)
What You’ll Need to Bring:
All you need to bring to a FAST DFW CHL class is a responsible, positive attitude, plus:
1: Your driver’s license (or State ID if you don’t have a DL);
2: Your unloaded handgun (.32 caliber or larger), two magazines if possible, and at least one box of 50 rounds of ammo:*
3: ‘Over the ear’ or ’ear muff’ style hearing protection and safety/corrective glasses;**
4: Suitable clothing to avoid hot brass getting where it shouldn’t - closed toe shoes, long pants, and ‘round neck’ or button down shirt. A baseball cap or other small brimmed hat is also advisable.);
5: Any additional snacks or soft drinks you wish to bring.
* We have several semi-auto pistols available to rent for $30 including 50 rounds and ear/eye protection. **Ear muffs and/or safety glasses available to borrow free.
All these items are on a ‘first ask first served’ basis - Don’t forget to ask in advance!
The CHL Shooting Proficiency Test:
All weapons and magazines must be kept unloaded and locked out of sight in your vehicle at all times unless your class instructor requests otherwise.
CHL students can use a semi-automatic pistol or a revolver for the CHL shooting proficiency test. It must be at least .32 caliber. The test isn’t complicated or difficult but we do recommend new and inexperienced shooters get some training or at least practice the test a few times before attending a CHL class because we’re not allowed to give time for ‘sighting in’ or practicing on the day.
We supply students with a standard paper ‘B-27’ target for the test. If you want to practice using the same type you’ll find they’re in common use at gun ranges. If your local range doesn’t have them you can buy them at most shooting supply stores and online retailers, but if you’re really stuck for a target a large paper plate will do!
The passing score for the proficiency test is 70%, or 175 points out of a possible 250 and the image on the right shows how the shots are scored.
Click Here for the DPS’ list of the 50 shots and time allowed. (.pdf file)
Click Here to see larger image of target showing zones & points. (.pdf file)
(Needs the free Adobe Reader, click HERE to get it.)
If you’re having trouble getting a passing score while practicing for the CHL test or you would like a friendly, expert to help you improve your shooting accuracy, one of our excellent instructors can help you out with a private coaching session. The hourly rate is $50 with a two hour minimum (plus range fees if applicable). Email us or call (972) 523-2865 to discuss how we can best help you.
Semi-Automatic Pistol vs Revolver:
We highly recommend using a semi-auto pistol for the shooting test even if you plan to carry a revolver when you get your license. The DPS puts a ‘Revolver Only’ restriction on your license if you used one in the test. If you ever want or need to carry a semi-auto you can’t legally unless you pay and take the test again using one.
If you don’t have a suitable semi-auto pistol we can loan you one with 50 rounds (and ear/eye protection if needed) for just $25 if you let us know in advance.
After you attend your CHL class and pass successfully you’ll receive a CHL-100 certificate and CHL-6 form which must be sent to the DPS within two years for new applicants, within six months for renewals.
TX Dept. of Public Safety CHL Application Process:.
The DPS (Texas Department of Public Safety) issues all CHLs (concealed handgun licenses) so you need to apply for one from the DPS as well as taking a New (aka ‘Original’) or a Renewal CHL qualification class. You can start the application process before taking a class if you want to save some time and believe you’re eligible for a license. As mentioned above, you have two years to complete your application process once you begin by submitting your CHL application form or the CHL-100 given to you after successfully qualifying in a class. (Note - Renewal applicants only have six months to get it all done.)
DPS application fees and our class fees are non-refundable so check you meet all the DPS’ eligibility requirements before applying for a license or booking a class anywhere. The DPS application form is quite simple and the fastest and most efficient way to apply is online via their website, although you can still apply by mail if necessary. The standard DPS application fee for a CHL is $140 for first time applications and $70 for renewals, but they do offer a range of big discounts depending on your status.
Click Here to see if you’re eligible for a CHL and find more useful info on the DPS FAQs page
Click Here to see the latest list of DPS standard and discounted CHL fees. (.pdf)
Click Here to start your CHL application on the DPS website.
(To open .pdf files download ‘Adobe Reader’ Here & install for free.)
After you submit your CHL application to the DPS and have received a receipt you must then book an appointment to have your fingerprints collected and submitted to the DPS electronically. MorphoTrust USA (aka L-1 Enrollment/L-1 Identity Solutions) are the only TX DPS approved vendor and they currently charge $9.95 for the service.
Click Here to find your nearest MorphoTrust USA office or schedule your fingerprint appointment on their website.
Click Here for the Waxahachie office of MorphoTrust USA (In the ‘Step One’ office on E Main St.)
FAST DFW will not refund any payments made by or on behalf of anyone who either is now or becomes ineligible for a TX CHL or who fails to complete the TX DPS CHL application or qualification process correctly or within TX DPS specified time limits or deadlines.